ATTENTION Town of Mount Hope residents:
VOTE TUESDAY, December 9, 3pm - 9pm
Vote held at Town Hall in Otisville. 

You may be surprised to hear that there is an upcoming election for new Fire Commissioners for the Mount Hope Fire District.

You may also say how can this be, because I thought that in August of this year, a majority of the voters for this Fire District voted to dissolve the Fire District as it was set up by the previous Town Board? This is all true, but the current commissioners were elected for only one year and in the past 4 months have NOT completed dissolving the district.

Hence we have to go through a vote now to replace them and complete this process. The current fire commissioners feel it will cost $60,000 to dissolve. The opposition says it can be done for about $5,000. (Note: to CREATE the fire district it was $10,000).

To read information on some of the people now running and why they feel the current estimated cost is too high, please review this website:  Mount Hope Fire District.

To read information on why the cost has to be that high, please review this website: Mount Hope Fire Department.


Information About Seven Peaks That All Mount Hope Residents and Minisink Valley Tax Payers Need to Know:

Currently, there is a major development project seeking approval which is located on Mountain Road in the Town of Mamakating (Tax Map Section 68; Block 1; Lot 30.1 and Section 72; Block 1; Lot 1.1 in the Ridge Valley Protection Zone).

This project is being by the same developer, Shalom Lamm, who is responsible for the Village at Chestnut Ridge townhouse development on Winterton Road in Bloomingburg.  As recent reports have revealed, Lamm originally misled the town and village residents as he said this development was intended to be 125 single family homes. It is is now a 396-townhouse development in Bloomingburg and was revealed to be a new Satmar-only village.

 High-Density development in these areas will have disastrous impact on the quality of our life as we know it, including increased pollution, higher taxes, harm to the environment, water/well issues and a catastrophic impact on the Pine Bush & Minisink Valley School Districts.  Although Seven Peaks is located in Sullivan County, it IS located within the Minisink Valley School District and has the potential to have an enormous impact on ALL Minisink Valley taxpayers. 

 We urge you to read the articles and visit the websites below. Please remain informed and make a stand against special interests!



  • Spread the Word, tell neighbors, family & friends.
  • Attend Meetings - including Town of Mamakating Board meeting ( and the Minisink Valley Central School District Board Meetings (
  • Approach your local town board and request a letter of interest in regards to this development.
  • Write your emails of concern to: Minisink Valley Board of Education, Orange County Legislature (, Sullivan County Legislature, Town of Mamakating (


In the News:



Useful Web Sites :